Tuesday Recap (#6)

My weekly review.

Abandoned: The Unremembered by Peter Orullian. I really wanted to like this, but thirty pages in it was wall-to-wall Extruded Fantasy Product, and the writing was not spectacular. I need either ideas or writing to keep me going at that point, so I gave in. Alas.

Also Read: An Autumn War by Daniel Abraham, which I’ll be reviewing tomorrow. (A preview: OMGWTFBBQ. Also, the library cannot get me The Price of Spring fast enough. This is why I’m afraid of buying an ereader – if I’d had one available when I’d finished that book at one in the morning, I’d have bought the next one and dug in immediately.)

Reviewed: The Last Unicorn graphic novel adaptation (Hot Off the Press); The Mad Bomber of New York by Michael M. Greenburg (Hot Off the Press). It’s a new books week!

We also talked about ereaders – and in the comments, the benefits of paper books. You can’t line a room with ebooks, after all.

In the wider world: Bookshelves of Doom over at Kirkus is asking for your recs for YA noir. As a massive noir fan, I am all about this idea, but I can’t comment there since I don’t have a Facebook account. I’ve read You Killed Wesley Payne by Sean Beaudoin, and a friend recced me Nickel Plated by Aric Davis – got any other YA noir reads?

About Jen Moore

I'm a recent library school graduate in Madison, Wisconsin, looking for a full-time professional job and trying to manage a fulfilling life in the meantime. Oh, and I read. A lot.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Meta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Darn. I have a feeling I would have much the same reaction to Unremembered and I’m sorry I lent you a book that is so lame! I guess I’ll give it a miss and get back to Joe Abercrombie. I love his sense of humor.

  2. Not your fault! You told me you didn’t like it, and I wanted to read it anyway. And maybe I was just not in the right mood for it, but eh. It’s not like I am short of books to read…

