The Friday Book Blogger Hop Returns

Book Blogger Hop logo

It’s that time again – time for the Friday Book Blogger Hop by Crazy for Books! The Hop is an opportunity to check out what other book bloggers are up to, socialize, and get to know one another.

This week’s discussion question is: “How many books are currently in your To-Be-Read (TBR) Pile?” Oh god. I don’t have the courage to count, but at a rough estimate I’d say at least a hundred on the primary TBR shelf and growing. I’d been trying to keep it confined to one shelf on the bookcase, but it’s recently metastasized onto another one…

About Jen Moore

I'm a recent library school graduate in Madison, Wisconsin, looking for a full-time professional job and trying to manage a fulfilling life in the meantime. Oh, and I read. A lot.

Posted on June 17, 2011, in The Internet is a Social Movement and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. 100 is a big number! I only have like…a few compared to it lol.

    My hop is here:
    http://faybaysbooks.blogspot.com/

  2. Hopping by! I like the look of your blog.

    And I’m quite familiar with the concept of “metastasized” TBR shelves!

    For my story and my journey through the TBRs, check MY BLOGGER HOP POST

  3. Oh that’s a good idea. Have a shelf dedicated to the TBR pile – maybe I’ll try that!

    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/06/friday-bookbloggerhop.html

    • Theoretically it’s supposed to keep the TBR pile down to a reasonable level — in actual fact, well, it’s getting out of hand. But it’s an attempt!

  4. I tried to confine my TBR pile to one bookshelf…then it grew to two bookshelves…then I bought some bookends and made a shelf to go over my fireplace…the books are taking over my house! But I love it. :)

    • I long to have a shelf of books over a fireplace. Some day!…

      I know what you mean about the books taking over the house. I keep looking at that empty shelf in the linen cupboard and thinking, Surely I could put books there.

  5. Ah, TBR piles. They’re sort of like Aubrey II from The Little Shop of Horrors. They start off all innocent and strange and then before you know it you’re feeding them copious amounts of blood and then a psychotic dentist and… Okay so it doesn’t completely work but it is a similar situation. In a way.

    I do enjoy contributing to your TBR pile though! :)

    • No, I’m sure my books live on copious amounts of blood. That would make sense.

      (Also, curse you, you’re the reason it’s taken over a second shelf! *tiny, impotent fist of rage*)

  6. I feel lucky with only 29!!!

    Just stopping by to say hello and to take a look around.

    I am having a Father’s Day giveaway on my blog if you would like to stop by.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2011/06/fathers-day-giveaway-from-little-brown.html

    Hope you can visit.

    Elizabeth

    • Oooh, to have a TBR pile of only 29. I am jealous!

      I will check out your blog, thanks!

  7. I have way too many books on my TBR list and TBR pile. All told that comes to about sixty books.

    Now here’s the scary math: I read roughly one book per week – and sometimes two. But two to three books are being added to my TBR list every week.

    Stressful, right?

    Wrong!

    Hop on over to my blog – http://www.howardsherman.net and find out why.

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

