The Tuesday Review (#2)

My weekly recap, filling you in on what else I’ve been doing this week.

Harlan Ellison's Phoenix Without Ashes, with Alan RobinsonAbandoned: Phoenix Without Ashes by Harlan Ellison and Alan Robinson. Here’s the thing. I used to love Harlan Ellison. I still have a massive collection of his books, scrounged from used bookstores and carefully hoarded. I say this not to indicate that something’s changed about Harlan Ellison, but perhaps to indicate that something’s changed about me. His cantankerous attitude grates more often than not, and although I like a lot of his stuff, I no longer find him an epic genius. This book, though, was really boring. It’s a combination of the graphic novel adaptation and novelization of the pilot Ellison wrote for a 1970s Canadian TV series called Starlost, and it’s just plain bad SF. One cliche after another, and not an original thing done with them. Sure, there’s an essay in there explaining how the studio producer came up with this terrible idea and insisted it be written, but that doesn’t make the book actually interesting. It wasn’t bad, I hasten to say, but I just couldn’t care enough to finish the novelization.

Reviewed: When Prophecy Fails by Leon Festinger, Harry W. Riecken, and Stanley Schachter; Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers;  You Killed Wesley Payne by Sean Beaudoin

Finished: my 30 days of books meme! At last.

In other news: I seem to have really gone for this book blogging idea. I started this blog originally for a class, kept it going out of a vague interest in writing about librarianship, and took off with it when I started posting regular book reviews. I’m still working out the kinks and looking to get a little more involved in the book blogging community, but I think this is a good direction for me. There will still be librarian-related content occasionally, posts on things like publishers and funding and The Ebook Wars, but for now, I think I’m here for the books. <3

About Jen Moore

I'm a recent library school graduate in Madison, Wisconsin, looking for a full-time professional job and trying to manage a fulfilling life in the meantime. Oh, and I read. A lot.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Meta, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

