The Tuesday Review (#1)

Since I’ve started doing full-length reviews, I find I need some way to keep track of the books I’ve read that I don’t feel like I have enough to say about to fill up a full review. So here we go: a brief recap of what’s been going on with me for the past week.

Also Read: The Wand in the Word, compiled by Leonard S. Marcus. This was a rather adorable collection of interviews with fantasy authors which I enjoyed very much. (It helped that of the thirteen authors interviewed, the only one I’d never read any of was Frannie Billingsley, which I am hoping to do something about soon.) It did annoy me a bit that the book was focused on YA/children’s fantasy, without ever actually saying that out loud, so keep that in mind if you’re looking at this book. It was a lovely little nostalgia trip, though, and reminded me that it’s been far too long since I’ve reread A Wrinkle in Time or The Ear, The Eye, and the Arm.

And: Murder Must Advertise, by Dorothy L. Sayers. Still working my way through the Lord Peter Wimsey books. I am enjoying the ones without Harriet, but I find they don’t make me think as hard. MMA was a little didactic about the role of advertising in society, but the real joy of this book was the bickery in-fighting in the ad agency where Lord Peter takes a job in order to investigate a murder. (I’m sure there’s a Nero Wolfe book that’s got the same plot, actually, but I can’t remember what it is right now…)

Reviewed: A Shadow in Summer by Daniel Abraham; Have His Carcase by Dorothy L. Sayers

Elsewhere: I finally remembered my GoodReads account! I’ve been updating there, and will continue to do more as time allows. My real-world job is crazy busy in the summer, and I’m still looking for that elusive library job, but in my spare time…books. All the time, books.

About Jen Moore

I'm a recent library school graduate in Madison, Wisconsin, looking for a full-time professional job and trying to manage a fulfilling life in the meantime. Oh, and I read. A lot.

Posted on May 24, 2011, in Meta, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Now I need to dig out my old Madeline L’Engle books. She was a fantastic writer.

    • I know! I used to be obsessed with her books, but it’s been ages since I read any. (How am I ever to finish reading my new books when I keep wanting to reread?)

