30 Days of Books: Day Twenty-Six

Day 26 – OMG WTF? OR most irritating/awful/annoying book ending
Memnoch the Devil by Anne Rice. Yes, I was a vampire fangirl at one point. I over-identified with Lestat something horrible in The Vampire Lestat, with his sense of revalation about the vast meaninglessless of the universe (and about the Church). What, I was sixteen. I loved the complexity of the universe she’d created, though, one in which the laws governing the existence of vampires had more to do with the vampires’ own beliefs (such as Armand’s certainty that the only proper thing to do was to live in a crypt under Paris and bemoan his fate) than with any laws of the universe. I even loved all the backstory in Queen of the Damned and the random, hilarious body-swapping in Tale of the Body Thief.

I lost it at the end of Memnoch, though. Time travel was one thing; Lestat at the Passion of the Christ was stretching it a little, but Armand randomly immolating himself on the steps of the cathedral because Lestat came back and told some ridiculous, unbelievable story? That was the first time I ever threw a book across the room in frustration. (The second time, for those of you who are curious, was the end of Clan of the Cave Bear, in which the ridiculous Mary-Sue of a main character invents the bra, in approximately 3000 BC. The third and most recent time was when I realized that they were actually not kidding about the scenes set in England in Left Behind. Both of those books, however, I read for classes.)

About Jen Moore

I'm a recent library school graduate in Madison, Wisconsin, looking for a full-time professional job and trying to manage a fulfilling life in the meantime. Oh, and I read. A lot.

Posted on April 3, 2011, in Reviews, The Internet is a Social Movement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

