30 Days of Books: Day Thirteen

Day 13 – Favorite childhood book OR current favorite YA book (or both!)

Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede. I remember my mother reading this to me before bed when I was very small; I still have cassette tapes of me reading the book myself from when I was a little older. And you know what, I still love this series.

It’s got a kind of fractured fairy-tale theme to it. Princess Cimorene decides that, if her options as a princess are to have dancing lessons and go to balls and get married or to be captured by a dragon, she’ll take the dragon, thank you very much. She ends up as Princess to the dragon Kazul, keeping house for the dragon, cooking bucketfulls of dragon-sized portions of cherries jubilee, and trying to put off the knights and princes who come to rescue her.

There are four books in the series, and I could not possibly pick a favorite, although I am fond of the third one just because the main character is Morwen, a witch who has half-a-dozen cats and a few spare workrooms (all of which can be reached by the same garden door). These books also initiated my complete love of Patricia C. Wrede, who I adored when I was in middle and high school, and whose influence can still be seen in the epic fantasy novel I’m writing for NaNoWriMo this year.

About Jen Moore

I'm a recent library school graduate in Madison, Wisconsin, looking for a full-time professional job and trying to manage a fulfilling life in the meantime. Oh, and I read. A lot.

Posted on October 26, 2010, in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree completely! My personal favorite in the quartet is the second, mostly because Mendenbar’s sarcastic streak and laid-back personality appeal to my sense of humor. He and Cimorene really play off of each other well.

    I think my favorite scene out of all four books was the poor dwarf who had inherited that huge flock of first-borns because their mothers couldn’t guess his name – even after he changed it to make it easier. Such a fun twist on the Rumpelstiltskin story!

    • I had completely forgotten about that dwarf! And now that you mention him, it all comes flooding back. :D

      Mendenbar is also the very first fictional character I refused to have a crush on, because I liked the relationship in the books so much. I was a fangirl from an early age…

      Thanks so much for the comment – I’m looking forward to reading back through your 30 Days of Books posts too.

